When viewing the day list, all conversations or a specific conversation. Each conversation will display its status.
The status of a conversation is automatically set to 'With Clinic' when a new chat comes in or 'With Client' when you have sent them a reply or payment link, etc.
You can also manually set this by clicking the status on the conversation screen.