Skip to main content

How do I send a pre-authorised payment?

J
Written by Joanna

Pre-authorise a deposit or full amount on a client’s card similarly to how hotels do for incidentals and room rates. This is a softer approach compared to full payment upfront.

  • A ‘pre-authorisation’ is not a charge. The client’s issuing bank / credit card company holds the pre-authorised amount temporarily from the available balance.

  • The clinic must then take payment within 7 days or the hold will be released.

  • The clinic can cancel the hold if the client wishes to pay by another means.

  • The full amount must be taken, it is not possible to take a partial pre-auth.

  • NOTE: There is an additional 30p charge for using pre-authorisations. Then when the payment is actually taken, the standard 1.4% + 20p is applied

Optional pre-authorise tick box on a payment request (system admins can turn this off if required).

Message and pre-auth link sent.

Pre-auth payment screen (your clinic logo will show).

Pre-auth success message in chat.

When ready, take funds or cancel via the payments screen or on a payments search.

Payment completed.

Did this answer your question?