Skip to main content

How does messaging Opt-out / Opt-in work?

J
Written by Joanna

Meta owns WhatsApp, Messenger (Facebook) and Instagram. They have a consent mechanism in place to help prevent unsolicited spam from companies to members of the public and to adhere to various GDPR rules.

👍 Digital Practice handles this process for you automatically.

Below is a description of how we do this, for your information.

To be able to start a WhatsApp (or Messenger) conversation, we need to request consent from the client to start chatting. We will send a consent message automatically, and wait until they reply with their permission.


Whatsapp:

To ensure we are legally compliant to send and receive messages in the UK and EU, we have opt-in (start), opt-out (stop) and help (help, info) keywords and auto response templates in WhatsApp.

  • If a client replies STOP in whatsapp:

    • Client receives a autoresponse message

    • They are added to the ‘Messaging opt outs’ screen in DP admin

    • They will not receive messages via any channel.

    • The conversation screen will display a message to the clinic '[client name/number] has opted out and will not receive any messages’

    • Each message sent will display a red cross with hover over text displaying ‘Recipient has opted out’

  • If a client replies START in whatsapp:

    • Client receives a autoresponse message

    • They are removed from the ‘Messaging opt outs’ screen in DP admin

    • They will receive messages via any channel.

  • If a client replies HELP / INFO in whatsapp:

    • Client receives a autoresponse message 'reply STOP to unsubscribe'


Broadcasts:

A pet owner has the option to respond ‘STOP’ to a message. (They can send ‘START’ to reverse this)

  • If a pet owner replies with either ‘STOP’ they will get added to the ‘Messaging opt outs’ page in Digital Practice Admin.

  • Anyone listed in the ‘Messaging opt outs’ screen will be auto removed from the recipient list and not receive future broadcasts for both Whatsapp and SMS. The clinic will see the following message after creating a broadcast to advise if any recipients have opted out and therefore will not receive the message:


Conversations:

  • If the clinic sends a SMS message in a conversation to a client since they have replied with ‘STOP’ the message will show in the conversation screen but will fail to deliver.

Notes

  • The consent templates are currently fixed and cannot be edited. They had to be approved by Meta/WhatsApp and are the same for all clinics

  • If the client does not reply or declines, any queued messages will not be sent. Please note that the clinic will still be able to send manual chats to the client so they should

  • Consent requests are not required for SMS, but remember that clients cannot message in or reply with photos, videos, files or audio messages on SMS so it is less useful

  • It is possible to manually re-send the consent message, but this should be done sparingly to avoid irritating clients

This is how to re-send consent link shown on new conversation:

OR

Click the three dots 'more' menu on a conversation...

...to view details of the consent status and choose to re-send:

Did this answer your question?